Transit Pro to Lead Transit District

David J. ArmijoDavid J. Armijo has been brought on board by the South Central Transit District to be the executive director of a new bus service that will connect rural communities in Doña Ana County to the City of Las Cruces. Service could begin as early as next month. 

A native of Las Cruces, Armijo has more than 23 years of experience in managing transit systems in New Mexico, Florida, Texas and California. Most recently, he was general manager of California’s third-largest transit agency – the Alameda/Contra Costa Transit District – which operates 600 buses in four operating divisions, with more than 2,000 employees. Returning to southern New Mexico, Armijo – whose first day on the job was Wednesday, Dec. 2 -- takes the reins of what is essentially a start-up system with five buses operating on routes that will connect the City of Las Cruces to the City of Sunland Park, Chaparral and Anthony. Additional service to the Village of Hatch is contemplated in the future.

The South Central Regional Transit District is comprised of eight (8) members:

  • Dona Ana County,
  • City of Las Cruces,
  • Town of Mesilla,
  • City of Sunland Park,
  • Village of Hatch,
  • Village of Williamsburg,
  • City of Elephant Butte,  
  • City of Truth or Consequences

Our Mission


The mission of the South Central Regional Transit District (SCRTD) is to provide the public with a safe and efficient regional transportation system. Transit services promote independent living for the frail, the elderly,the disabled, and those without access to automobiles by providing essential links to a variety of medical, social, and other services, and the region recognizes the need to improve mobility options for this growing segment of the population.

Board of Directors

Wayne Hancock 


Doña Ana County 



Javier Perea 
Vice Chair

Sunland Park, NM 

Greg Smith Treasurer

Las Cruces City Counselor / Mayor Pro Tem.

Steve Green Secretary

Truth or Consequences 
 City Commissioner
Mayor Pro-Tem. 

Nora Barraza
Board Member


Town of Mesilla Mayor

Majorie Powey
Board Member

Village of Williamsburg Trustee 

Gerald LaFont
Board Member

  City of Elephant Butte Councilor

Sharon Thomas
Citizen Advisory

Former  Las Cruces City Council Member / Mayor Pro- Tem